Thursday, April 8, 2010

Bill Willingham, Geoff Johns Both Nominated for Eisner Awards

The Eisner Award nominees were announced today.  Listed below are Gfest's predictions for who SHOULD win this year's top Eisner Awards.  The predicted winners are in bold.

Best Continuing Series

• Fables, by Bill Willingham, Mark Buckingham, Steve Leialoha, Andrew Pepoy et al. (Vertigo/DC)

• Irredeemable, by Mark Waid and Peter Krause (BOOM!)

• Naoki Urasawa’s 20th Century Boys, by Naoki Urasawa (VIZ Media)

• The Unwritten, by Mike Carey and Peter Gross (Vertigo/DC)

The Walking Dead, by Robert Kirkman and Charles Adlard (Image)

Best Limited Series or Story Arc

Blackest Night, by Geoff Johns, Ivan Reis, and Oclair Albert (DC)

• Incognito, by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Marvel Icon)

• Pluto: Urasawa X Tezuka, by Naoki Urasawa and Takashi Nagasaki (VIZ Media)

• Wolverine #66–72 and Wolverine Giant-Size Special: “Old Man Logan,” by Mark Millar, Steve McNiven, and Dexter Vines (Marvel)

• The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, by Eric Shanower and Skottie Young (Marvel)

Best New Series

Chew by John Layman and Rob Guillory (Image)

• Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Phillip K. Dick, art by Tony Parker (BOOM!)

• Ireedeemable, by Mark Waid and Peter Krause (BOOM!)

• Sweet Tooth, by Jeff Lemire (Vertigo/DC)

• The Unwritten, by Mike Carey and Peter Gross (Vertigo/DC)

Best Humor Publication

• Drinky Crow’s Maakies Treasury, by Tony Millionaire (Fantagraphics)

• Everybody Is Stupid Except for Me, And Other Astute Observations, by Peter Bagge (Fantagraphics)

• Little Lulu, vols. 19–21, by John Stanley and Irving Tripp (Dark Horse Books)

• The Muppet Show Comic Book: Meet the Muppets, by Roger Langridge (BOOM Kids!)

Scott Pilgrim vol. 5: Scott Pilgrm vs. the Universe, by Brian Lee O’Malley (Oni)

Best Graphic Album—Reprint

Absolute Justice, by Alex Ross, Jim Krueger, and Doug Braithewaite (DC)

• A.D.: New Orleans After the Deluge, by Josh Neufeld (Pantheon)

• Alec: The Years Have Pants, by Eddie Campbell (Top Shelf)

• Essex County Collected, by Jeff Lemire (Top Shelf)

• Map of My Heart: The Best of King-Cat Comics & Stories, 1996–2002, by John Porcellino (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Writer

• Ed Brubaker, Captain America, Daredevil, Marvels Project (Marvel) Criminal, Incognito (Marvel Icon)

Geoff Johns, Adventure Comics, Blackest Night, Flash: Rebirth, Superman: Secret Origin (DC)

• James Robinson, Justice League: Cry for Justice (DC)

• Mark Waid, Irredeemable, The Incredibles (BOOM!)

• Bill Willingham, Fables (Vertigo/DC)

Best Cover Artist

John Cassaday, Irredeemable (BOOM!); Lone Ranger (Dynamite)

• Salvador Larocca, Invincible Iron Man (Marvel)

• Sean Phillips, Criminal, Incognito (Marvel Icon); 28 Days Later (BOOM!)

• Alex Ross, Astro City: The Dark Age (WildStorm/DC); Project Superpowers (Dynamite)

• J. H. Williams III, Detective Comics (DC)

Best Coloring

• Steve Hamaker, Bone: Crown of Thorns (Scholastic); Little Mouse Gets Ready (Toon)

• Laura Martin, The Rocketeer: The Complete Adventures (IDW); Thor, The Stand: American Nightmares (Marvel)

• David Mazzuccheilli, Asterios Polyp (Pantheon)

Alex Sinclair, Blackest Night, Batman and Robin (DC)

• Dave Stewart, Abe Sapien, BPRD, The Goon, Hellboy, Solomon Kane, Umbrella Academy, Zero Killer (Dark Horse); Detective Comics (DC); Northlanders, Luna Park (Vertigo)

Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism

• Alter Ego, edited by Roy Thomas (TwoMorrows)


• Comics Comics, edited by Timothy Hodler and Dan Nadel ( (PictureBox)

• The Comics Journal, edited by Gary Groth, Michael Dean, and Kristy Valenti (Fantagraphics)

• The Comics Reporter, produced by Tom Spurgeon (

Best Publication Design

Absolute Justice, designed by Curtis King and Josh Beatman (DC)

• The Brinkley Girls, designed by Adam Grano (Fantagraphics)

• Gahan Wilson: 50 Years of Playboy Cartoons, designed by Jacob Covey (Fantagraphics)

• Life and Times of Martha Washington, designed by David Nestelle (Dark Horse Books)

• Queer Visitors from the Marvelous Land of Oz, designed by Philippe Ghielmetti (Sunday Press)

• Whatever Happened to the World of Tomorrow? designed by Neil Egan and Brian Fies (Abrams ComicArts)

No comments:

Post a Comment